Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Skipper

135 HO shavings on upper gearcase drain plug

I pulled my upper drain plug to check for fluid contamination and found actual metal shavings on the magnet. This engine was new in 2015 and I only have 10 hours on this engine. I am going to get some gearcase oil and a pump tomorrow and change the fluid. Is this normal or have I got something going bad?  I am a auto mechanic and am used to small black graphite looking shavings but these were actual metal shavings ranging in size from about .050 to .100 thousands in size. please advise.

Admiral

Re: 135 HO shavings on upper gearcase drain plug

[ Edited ]

See your dealer and do not use the motor with metal chips or steel shards on the magnet - a fine fuzz is OK and normal

photo Drainplugs-cropped_zps5873d7de.jpg

"There is never just one thing wrong with a boat";
                                                 -- Travis McGee, main character in a book series by John D. McDonald

The factory recommends that a properly trained technician service your Johnson or Evinrude outboard motor. If you elect to do it yourself, be sure to use caution, common sense, and to observe all safety procedures in the vicinity of gasoline, moving engine parts, high temperature components, heavy items, and electrical or ignition systems.

The information offered here is only general in nature and should not be construed as complete factory approved procedures, techniques, or specifications. Always use the proper service manual for your motor, up-to-date service literature, the correct tools, and have an understanding of how to proceed with troubleshooting and repair methods. If you are unsure or uncomfortable with a procedure, a situation or a technique, enlist the services of a factory trained technician.
Skipper

0423161146-1.jpg

Captain