Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Skipper
Accepted Solution

1980 70hp Top Speed Problem

[ Edited ]

Hi!

This is my first time posting so bare with me.

1992 Thundercraft 17ft Bowrider

I purchased a boat last week off a friend of mine, it has a 1980 70hp Evinrude Model#E70ELCSA. He had owned it for 2 years and always ran well and was able to achieve 55-60KPH. This year he thought it may be a good idea to run a tank of fuel with seafoam to clean out the carbs. Obviously ran a little rougher but was still able to achieve his top end power.

After I purchased it i noticed a small problem with its idle, so we made the appropriate adjustment and now idles perfect. But still can only achieve about 30-40KPH on the water under perfect conditions. It just feels like its not getting enough juice to go Wide open. It is also sluggish out of the hole.

Due to the specs I've looked up engine is designed to operate around 5800RPM at WOT

I currently can't exceed 4100 at very best or less

Other than the lack of power at the top end, engine runs like a dream. What could we be missing?

Things we have tried.

New NGK spark plugs

Remove and clean all 3 carbs.

Fresh tank of fuel 50:1 mix using Amsoil Synthetic

All 3 Coil packs were replaced last year

Thanks in Advance!!!!

Admiral

Re: 1980 70hp Top Speed Problem

[ Edited ]

We arre talking about a 35 year old engine here, so anything is possible.

You may want to switch to the factory recommended Champion QL77JC4 plugs gapped to .030"

The ignition system should be strong enough to spark across a 7/16"  gap at cranking speed

check compression for all cylinders to be within 15% of each other

inspect the throttle arm to spark advance plate (timer base) link and be sure the plate rotates smoothly in conjunction with the movement of the throttle arm.