Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Mate
StClairHound

Cold weather starting

I have a 2000 , 200 hp ficht.  Purchased new out of the box as a non current in 2008. In late fall and early spring when air temps are below 40 degrees the engine won't start. When I turn the key all the warning lights on the dash flash. Once the sun comes out and it warms up it operates as normal. I am told by my dealer that it is sensor, to do with the water cooled fuel pump? Don't know I am not a mechanic. I am also told there is no fix for it. That does not make sense, do they not sell these in colder weather areas. It is problem every spring and fall.

Please use plain text.
Admiral
BluewaterBill

Re: Cold weather starting

Cold weather brings out any weakness in an electrical system. The biggest culprit is the battery. Your best bet is to have at least a 1000 MCA rated battery for starting your FICHT. In addition, the cables and conntections have to be be shiney clean and secured with lockwashers and hex nuts, no wing nuts.

The use of Evinrude's XD-100 synthetic oil is mandatory is cold temperatures on both FICHT and E-TEC motors.

Spark plugs should be new and indexed and gapped (.028") per the factory manual. Your FICHT has short plug life so they need changing or at least re-gapping in around 50 hours.

One problem that your dealer may be overlooking is the effect of condensation on the wiring, connections, and components of the electrical and ignition system. If you remove your motor cover in 40 degree temps, you may see the condesnsation moisture beaded up on the engine and wiring which can bleed off voltage while trying to start. Perhaps that is why the motor starts better when it is sunny out as the moisture has evaporated.

"There is never just one thing wrong with a boat"
                                                 --- Travis McGee