Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Drg
Mate

Etec remote throttle.

Greetings.  I'm totally new to boating but just picked up a Etec 30 hp tiller motor.  I have a 1958 Elgin runabout that I would like to put the motor on.  I'm looking for the most cost effective remote throttle to use on the project.  Any help would be appreciated.  The motor doesn't have power trim and is pull start.  Steering seems easy but I'm not having luck finding what I might need.

Admiral

Re: Etec remote throttle.

Remote Control Adapter
Evinrude® E-TEC® 25-30 HP - Converts tiller controlled engines to “remote” shift and throttle control.
1. If converting a DT model outboard (tiller with power trim and tilt), Trim
and Tilt Harness, P/N 587028 is required to control trim function from
remote control trim switch.
2. If installation of a trim gauge is desired, order sending unit and
mounting hardware separately.
3. Refer to appropriate parts catalog. For remote steering order Steering
Connector Kit, P/N 5009753.

You can use any of the Evinrude shift&throttle remote control boxes for your motor

"There is never just one thing wrong with a boat";
                    -- Travis McGee, main character in a book series by John D. McDonald 

The factory recommends that a properly trained technician service your Johnson or Evinrude outboard motor. Should you elect to perform repairs yourself, use caution, common sense, and observe safety procedures in the vicinity of flammable liquids, around moving parts, near high-temperature components, and working with electrical or ignition systems.