Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Mate
WAXMAN

RPS ON A 90 HP 2011 MOTOR.

I have a 2010 Alumacraft 165 Navigator with a 2011 90 hp E-tec motor.

With my wife,myself,fishing gear, trolling motor , we are able to get 36mph at 3600 rpmsWOT.

My question is , Is this about normal for this boat? I forgot to mention, I have a alum.17pitch prop.

I am completely new to boating . If more info is needed please let me know.  I think we have 10hrs on motor.not completely sure.

Thanks for any help from this rookie.

WAXMAN.

Please use plain text.
Admiral
BluewaterBill

Re: RPS ON A 90 HP 2011 MOTOR.

Your numbers do not jive. Your tach is wrong, you may have a typo, or perhaps both as your top rpm would be more than 3600 rpm at full speed. I suggest that you talk with a technician and/or someone familiar with your rig at your dealer about the rpms, speed, and overall performance.

For a rough comparison, here is a link to a  factory boat performance test with a 75hp on a 165 Navigator. A stainless steel propeller will always outperform an aluminum prop.

http://www.evinrude.com/Content/Pdf/neutral/performanceReports/PE501.pdf

"There is never just one thing wrong with a boat"
                                                 --- Travis McGee

The factory recommends that a properly trained technician service your Johnson or Evinrude outboard motor. If you elect to do it yourself, be sure to use caution, common sense, and to observe all safety procedures in the vicinity of gasoline, moving engine parts, high temperature components, heavy items, and electrical or ignition systems.