Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Mate

200hp 07 overheating at idle

I have a 2007, 200hp, 60 degree, (E200DLSUF) Evinrude with around 450hrs which keeps overheating at idle speeds only. (will only idle for approximately 2 - 3 mins.). The motor will run perfectly fine while speeds over 5mph and rpms over 1200. I have replaced the water pump, thermostats, spark plugs, checked the water pressure relief valve and still the same problem occors. The motor seems to sputter when attempting to get up to speed, but once up to an "acceptable" speed everything is rinning fine. The overheating problem occurs even when the ears are hooked up to the motor. I have also added a new pisser nozzle (overboard nozzle) to make sure there will be enough back pressure to the motor when in idle. There only seems to be around 4 - 5psi when in idle at around 150 degrees F. The motor does not seem to be any more warm than would be expected for a motor to be. All of the water out of the pisser is cool enough to hold in your hand and the same for the water that comes out of the propeller. When the engine horn sounds for engine fail, the motor will then be placed in low rpm mode. I can turn the engine off and immediatly turn it back on and the engine will run again for another 2-3 mins and the alarm will sound again. Has anyone ever solved this problem, I am hearing that is seems to be a common issue with evinrude e-tec motors. I am looking for anyone with any advice before I take the motor in to a tech to look at. If you are stading on the starboard side of the boat looking at the EMM, the light to the far left (closest to the Aft) is lit up. 

Admiral

Re: 200hp 07 overheating at idle

jtparker wrote:

I have a 2007, 200hp, 60 degree, (E200DLSUF) Evinrude