Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Skipper

2015 60hp e-tec shifting

I just had a new 60hp 2015 e-tec installed on my new lund rebel 1650 XL tiller.  I have two questions.One is The shifter on the handle when you go to put in the foward gear you have to really throw it foward ,seems like it needs to be adjusted.Is this something I can fix on my own.I hate to drive an hour and a half back to dealer for a half hour fix.Im an automotive tech.The second question is the steering is hard to steer.the trim tab in front of the prop, which way do you adjust the tab too.I have to hold  the handle to the right pretty hard,so do you turn tab to the right as well? Thanks1  John M

Admiral

Re: 2015 60hp e-tec shifting

[ Edited ]

The easiest way to remember how to reposition the trim tab is to ease up on the wheel or tiller and see which way the boat wants to go on its own, then turn the trim tab in the same direction. Go a small bit at a time until you get it where if works best. Remember that at different speeds and different trim positions, the trim tab may not feel the same.

If you are saying that it is hard to shift when the motor is running, then see your dealer for a possible adjustment.

If you are shifting it with the motor off, then you may be binding the linkage if the clutch dogs are not lining up. I belive the owners manual warns about shifting if the motor is not running.

"There is never just one thing wrong with a boat";
                    -- Travis McGee, main character in a book series by John D. McDonald 

The factory recommends that a properly trained technician service your Johnson or Evinrude outboard motor. Should you elect to perform repairs yourself, use caution, common sense, and observe safety procedures in the vicinity of flammable liquids, around moving parts, near high-temperature components, and working with electrical or ignition systems.