Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Skipper

Too much oil injected into my 2014 E-tec 150

Hello - I'm new to E-nation and hoping to get some guidance. I have a 2014 150hp e-tec that is dumping too much oil into motor. Engine idles fine and will momenatrily get up on plane then bog down and not take throttle. Brought it to dealer, they went thru it completely and found nothing wrong expept motor was not tuned for HD 100 oil that I've been using. They did the tune and replaced the spark plugs that were fowled. Took boat out this weekend ran about 5 miles up the Columbia river,and  idled around as we put out duck decoys. Got up on plane to head back home, and motor bogged down again just like before. Oil sheen on water and I noticed I had gone thru about 1/3 gallon of oil in the 5 mile run up river. Engine idles like a top but boggs down when I apply throttle. Any ideas on what this could be? Could it be as simple as replacing the oil pressure sensor?

I would greatly appreciate any feedback....

Thanks

Steffen

Admiral

Re: Too much oil injected into my 2014 E-tec 150

We need more information to be able to assist you.

Has this started happening suddenly after running well for a few years or is this motor new to you? Has any recent service been done to the boat or motor before the problem  arose?

There are no more yearly designations, what is the complete model number printed on the serial number tag?

What is the top rpm and speed when the motor is running as it should? What boat is in on and what model and size propeller?

Have any of the warning lights come on recently and which one(s)?

"There is never just one thing wrong with a boat";
                    -- Travis McGee, main character in a book series by John D. McDonald