Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Highlighted
Mate

2005 115hp Ficht motor with constant no oil light

[ Edited ]

I am new to powerboats and the engine and boat are new to me.  Wishing I'd read up on these motors a bit before taking the plunge but now it's my problem.

The engine has a no oil light constantly lighting on the dash.  The previous owner dismissed it as a bad sensor that has been a problem for years.  I am not willing to take it out on the water and destroy the engine to find out if he's right.  

I wanted to take it to a mechanic but the local ones are all booked for several weeks out.

I bought a service manual along with the diagnostic cable and software.  It all came today and I pulled the history.  There are no faults related to oil.  I am going to try and post a picture from the engine report.

e115report.jpg

From reading the service manual it looks like air in the oil line might be a cause.  Wouldn't this create an error code?  I'm going to do the purge procedure.  Is there anything else I can check?

Highlighted
Admiral

Re: 2005 115hp Ficht motor with constant no oil light

@realdeal wrote:

I am new to powerboats and the engine and boat are new to me.  Wishing I'd read up on these motors a bit before taking the plunge but now it's my problem.

The engine has a no oil light constantly lighting on the dash.  The previous owner dismissed it as a bad sensor that has been a problem for years.  I am not willing to take it out on the water and destroy the engine to find out if he's right.  

I wanted to take it to a mechanic but the local ones are all booked for several weeks out.

I bought a service manual along with the diagnostic cable and software.  It all came today and I pulled the history.  There are no faults related to oil.  I am going to try and post a picture from the engine report.

e115report.jpg