Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Skipper

Engine flushing

According to bpr you hook the water hose up and flush without running the the engine that didn't seem to be right to me being a former mechanic I asked the tech at th marina he agreed told me to tape off the front intakes use muffs and run the engine this ensures that all the water goes through the entire cooling system including the thermostats
Admiral

Re: Engine flushing

Read your owners manual as you can run the motor to flush it while the garden hose is connected to the engine's flushing port

"There is never just one thing wrong with a boat";
                    -- Travis McGee, main character in a book series by John D. McDonald 

The factory recommends that a properly trained technician service your Johnson or Evinrude outboard motor. Should you elect to perform repairs yourself, use caution, common sense, and observe safety procedures in the vicinity of flammable liquids, around moving parts, near high-temperature components, and working with electrical or ignition systems.

The information offered here is only general in nature and should not be construed as complete factory approved procedures, techniques, or specifications. Always use the proper service manual for your motor, up-to-date service literature, the correct tools, and have an understanding of how to proceed with troubleshooting and repair methods. If you are unsure or uncomfortable with a procedure, a situation, or a technique, enlist the services of a factory trained technician.

Skipper

Just looked at the owners manual it does show that you can run engine but my owners manual shows you have to block off front intakes and use muffs
Captain