Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Mate

G2 175hp 2017 issues

Hi folks,

I’m new to this motor and I’m getting frustrated with the little bugs and my service support.

Have a new 175hp 2017 G2 on my 23’ bay boat. After receiving the boat and dropping it in the water I immediately noticed the Fuel, Speed and Hours were not working. I have Trim, Temp and RPM. It was Memorial Day weekend so I chose to fuel up and keep topped off. Everything went fine. Wanted a 2 stroke because I like the hull shot to plane in a choppy bay. I held off on taking it right back as it is in the water in my back yard and I needed to arrange timing for bottom paint and other rigging. The next week I’m about to hop on to plane as I’m leaving to fish and the RPM’s dives… I rest it and restart and it starts then shuts down. With an eclectic burning smell…. Take it out and find it’s a burn starter. (Always started on crank one in one fast turn). Now lets jump to service. Apparently the new dealer I have purchased it from is not up to date on the newest generation (not enough classroom time to have the newest software). So they take it from Miami to St. Augustine to the parent shop. Comes back with a new starter and they are clueless why it burnt out. Buuuut the gauges issues are not fixed and still are not. It was my birthday weekend when it returned and has been running well until last week. I get a code 34 oil fault engine shutdown mode… its reading 25% oil. So I get home at 1100 RMP and fill the oil to make sure and yes I was at about 25% based on my refill. Figure, oh boy here we go now I have to top off the oil every time I go out until these folks can fix my other gauges. Yesterday I was 5 miles across the bay running nicely at 4500 RPM and 151 degrees. Anyone want to guess what happened??? Code 34!!! 5 miles in nasty bay chop at 1100 RPM’s… any input is appreciated. TY

Admiral

Re: G2 175hp 2017 issues