Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Skipper

Instructions for OMC side mount controls

Greetings All, I recently purchased a used E Tec 115 hp for an old boat that I have been restoring. I purchased the motor out of state, so I'm a rigging it myself, not the dealer. I have never installed controls before, and the ones that I purchased for the motor did not come with instructions. Therefore, I am struggling with the proper assembly of the controls and cables. I have searched this forum, the internet, and the evinrude site for OMC style concealable remote control installation instructions with no results. I found the pre-delivery guide, but unfortunately it doesn't include specific instruction on this style of remote. Does anyone know where I can get a copy or have a copy they can send me? I have been working on my boat for almost two years and I'm really excited to get her on the water. Please help ASAP! Thanks.
Admiral

Re: Instructions for OMC side mount controls

I may be able to help if you can tell me which model side control that you have. The part number would be ideal if you know it.

Is this the concealed side control where only the lever is visible or is the the side mount control that is about 1" thick and has a fast idle lever along with keyswitch and wiring and that you have to open up to install the cables?

"There is never just one thing wrong with a boat";
                    -- Travis McGee, main character in a book series by John D. McDonald 

The factory recommends that a properly trained technician service your Johnson or Evinrude outboard motor. Should you elect to perform repairs yourself, use caution, common sense, and observe safety procedures in the vicinity of flammable liquids, around moving parts, near high-temperature components, and working with electrical or ignition systems.