Evinrude E-NATION, for those dedicated to water, power, fishing and fun
Mate

Prop Question/Suggestions

Hi, I'm new to the boating world and just purchased my first boat. My new boat is a Qwest 820 LS splash pad tritoon. The length of the boat is approx 21 feet. The motor is an Evinrude 150hp HO. So far I've only been able to get the RPM's up to 5000 running wide open throttle. The recommended WOT RPM range is 5300-6000. I have had the boat up to 45 mph according to my GPS on fish finder. I'm happy with the speed as I was told by the salesman that it would probably do about 43 mph. My question is should I ask about getting a different prop to get the RPM's up. When I first drove the boat I didn't trim the motor at all during WOT and it was trimmed all the way down. I could only get up to 39 MPH 4800 rpm's with the motor trimmed all the way down. The second time I ran the boat I gradually trimmed the motor up during WOT and climbed up to 45 mph at 5000 rpm's. I was able to repeat this same run multiple times with the same results. My current prop is a stainless steel, three blade, rebel. I don't know the diameter or pitch. Would the boat go even faster if I was able to increase RPM's to the upper range of the recommended motor output during WOT? Or would it just perform better as far as hole shot? I have a hard time believing this boat would go much faster than 45mph. It's probably not designed for that anyway. Thanks!
Admiral

Re: Prop Question/Suggestions

5000 is too low an rpm for full throttle on your engine.

If you could find out the size of your Rebel prop, we could offer suggestions for better performance. My guess is that the 15" Rebel should work fairly well but if more rpm is needed, then a 15" SSP would be bring the rpms up.

For a pontoon boat it is better to choose a propeller that turns near the top of the rpm chart,to allow for rpm loss when you bring a large number of people on board and all their gear.